Our Community

The Shire of Morawa is located in the North Midlands region of Western Australia and is bordered by the local authorities of Mullewa, Perenjori, Mingenew, Three Springs and Yalgoo.

The town is located approximately 370km north of Perth and 170km south east of Geraldton. The Shire supports a population of approximately 1,000 people (600 in the township and 460 in the remainder of the Shire), and includes the localities of Canna, Gutha, Pintharuka, Merkanooka and Koolanooka.

Morawa is a shire that is renowned for breaking new ground with its community achievements and economic developments. The shire has a very proactive and positive community, and has had so for generations.

It is because of our community that Morawa has built a reputation of ‘breaking new ground’ or of leading the way and doing things first.